Car Accident Laws To Know In Florida

Car Accident Laws To Know In Florida

When you choose to sit behind the wheel of any vehicle,it is imperative that you know and comply by the laws of the state. When it comes to car accidents and compensation,every state has its own unique laws and statutes. Here is a gist of the car accident laws to know in Florida. Knowing and following these laws will protect you and passengers in your vehicle,and getting a hurt in an auto wreck on your side later can help,as well.

Understanding Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Florida requires that drivers of vehicles have a minimum amount of auto insurance. This includes $10,000 insurance against personal injury and $10,000 for property damage liability. It would be wise to keep track of when your insurance coverage ends. This will ensure that you never drive the car without meeting the proper auto-insurance requirements.

The Motor-Vehicle No Fault Law

In order to ensure that everyone involved in a car accident is properly compensated for medical bills and treatment,the ‘motor-vehicle no fault law’ was enacted and enforced. This is one of the car accident laws to know in Florida,as it is one of the twelve states with this law in place. This essentially means that all parties injured in the accident will first seek compensation for medical bills from their own auto insurance company. Do remember that the insurance company will compensate according to your coverage.

How to Get Compensation for a Car Accident

In order to get a fair compensation for the car accident,you will have to prove negligence on the part of the driver of the other vehicle. If you are a passenger,you may also wish to claim compensation from the driver. It is best to contact a accident attorney who will ensure that you gather and collate all the documents required to file a lawsuit. These would include the police report of the incident,photographs of the accident and documentation to support the damages suffered due to it. Florida has a statute of limitations of four years,after which you cannot file a lawsuit.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

-